AWS Certified Developer – Associate: picking the exam version and the way to prepare
DVA-C03 keeps the $150 US fee, checked November 2026, and AWS's page lists 65 questions in 130 minutes. A first attempt costs $150 with AWS's free prep and $164.99 with a practice-exam set; with a three-day Developing on AWS class it is $2,175 to $2,935. With a year of hands-on AWS development, we estimate 5 to 8 weeks of part-time study.
Key facts
- The Developer Associate exam costs $150 in the US: 65 questions in 130 minutes. (AWS, checked November 5, 2026)
- The last day to take DVA-C02 is November 30, 2026; DVA-C03 is in use from December 1, 2026, and registration for it opened on October 27, 2026. (AWS exam guides, checked November 5, 2026)
- DVA-C03 has 50 scored and 15 unscored questions; 720 out of 1,000 passes. (AWS DVA-C03 exam guide, checked November 5, 2026)
- The certification lasts 3 years; the latest Developer Associate exam, the DevOps Engineer Professional exam or maintenance on Skill Builder keeps it current. (AWS recertification, checked November 5, 2026)
The developer AWS has in mind
AWS describes the exam as validating proficiency in "developing, testing, deploying, and debugging AWS Cloud-based applications, including using AI-assisted development tools." The guide expects you to code in at least one high-level language and to work with service APIs, the AWS CLI and SDKs. It leaves architecture design, building CI/CD pipelines and administering IAM users out of scope: you are tested on using those things, not designing them.
A good fit if
- You write application code that calls AWS services through SDKs, such as Lambda functions, DynamoDB access or API Gateway endpoints
- You deploy through an existing pipeline and want to show you can test, secure and debug what you ship
- You use AI coding assistants and want an exam that now covers AI-assisted development and calling managed AI services
Think twice if
- You design systems rather than code them: the guide places architecture design out of scope
- You do not program yet: AWS advises people without IT work experience to start with Cloud Practitioner
- You run servers and operating systems day to day, which this exam does not test
Consider instead: AWS Solutions Architect Associate for design work; AWS Cloud Practitioner as a first AWS exam; AI-200 (which replaced AZ-204) if you build on Azure.
DVA-C02 or DVA-C03, and what the exam involves
Eligibility: none; AWS lists no prerequisite. Recommended experience: a year or more of hands-on work developing and maintaining applications on AWS. No course is required to book the exam.
Version: DVA-C02 can be taken through November 30, 2026, and DVA-C03 replaces it from December 1; the certification keeps its name. If you fail DVA-C02 late in November, AWS's 14-day retake wait pushes your second attempt onto DVA-C03. Format: multiple choice and multiple response; scores run from 100 to 1,000 and 720 passes on the overall result. AWS offers it in English, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese (Brazil), Simplified Chinese and Spanish (Latin America).
| Domain | DVA-C02 | DVA-C03 |
|---|---|---|
| Building with AWS services | 32% | 30% |
| Security | 26% | 26% |
| Deployment (renamed Testing and Deployment in C03) | 24% | 22% |
| Troubleshooting and optimization | 18% | 22% |
The weights move only a little, but the content shifts more. DVA-C03 adds a security task for using AI services in applications, AI-assisted coding, AI tools for testing and troubleshooting, and building and deploying container images on Amazon ECR, ECS, EKS and Fargate. Older study material written for DVA-C02 will miss those parts.
Ways to prepare for DVA-C03
- AWS Skill Builder, free. The DVA-C03 Exam Prep Plan (16 hours 30 minutes) and Official Practice Question Set are free; the 22-hour AWS Developer learning plan adds depth. Check that the plan title says DVA-C03, because skillbuilder.aws/exam-prep/developer-associate still lands on the retiring DVA-C02 plan. The Official Practice Exam needs a subscription, $29 a month.
- Your own AWS account. The exam rewards having written and debugged Lambda, DynamoDB and API Gateway code. AWS's free tier and a budget alert keep this cheap.
- Independent practice exams. Tutorials Dojo lists its Developer set at $14.99. The product page mentions the move to DVA-C03, while its question description still refers to DVA-C02; ask which version the questions follow.
- Developing on AWS. Over three days it covers the AWS SDKs and CLI, IAM permissions for a development environment, Amazon S3 and DynamoDB operations, Lambda functions, APIs on API Gateway and sign-in with Amazon Cognito, according to New Horizons' outline. It is AWS's official intermediate developer course, delivered through AWS's training partners and offered with AWS Jam; AWS has no Developer Associate exam prep class. Pick it if you want guided labs on a fixed schedule.
What Developer Associate preparation costs
| Route | Provider and course | Published price | Exam fee | First attempt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free official prep | AWS Skill Builder, Exam Prep Plan for DVA-C03, 16 hours 30 minutes, free with an account, plus a 22-hour AWS Developer learning plan; the Official Practice Exam needs a subscription. Checked November 5, 2026. | $0 | + $150 exam | $150 |
| Practice exams | Tutorials Dojo, Developer Associate practice exams, one year of access, list price (on sale for $11.24 when checked); the product text still describes DVA-C02 questions. Checked November 5, 2026. | $14.99 | + $150 exam | $164.99 |
| Live class, 3 days | New Horizons, Developing on AWS, virtual live; exam voucher offered as a $150 add-on. Checked November 5, 2026. | $2,025 | + $150 exam | $2,175 |
| Live class, 3 days | Global Knowledge, Developing on AWS, virtual; voucher not stated. Checked November 5, 2026. | $2,095 | + $150 exam | $2,245 |
| Live class, 3 days | Learning Tree, Developing on AWS, instructor-led; voucher not stated. Checked November 5, 2026. | $2,785 | + $150 exam | $2,935 |
All three classes teach the same AWS course, so the $760 gap between the lowest and highest list price buys delivery, not different content. Costs people miss: each retake is the full $150, a Skill Builder subscription for the practice exam is $29 a month, and AWS bills any resources you leave running in your account.
Comparing Developing on AWS classes
- Which exam version it targets. None of the three listings names DVA-C03. Ask whether the labs cover containers and AI-assisted development, which DVA-C03 adds.
- Voucher. Only New Horizons prices the exam voucher, at $150 extra; the Global Knowledge and Learning Tree listings are silent on it.
- Guaranteed dates. New Horizons says it never cancels a scheduled course. Ask the others whether your date can be cancelled.
- Lab access after class. Ask how long you keep the lab environment, since practice after the course matters for a coding exam.
Keeping the certification current
It is valid for 3 years. Renew by passing the latest Developer Associate exam or the DevOps Engineer Professional exam, using the 50% discount voucher in your AWS Certification Account. AWS also lists a maintenance route on Skill Builder that adds 1 year; it needs an active certification within 90 days of expiration and an active Skill Builder subscription (Monthly, Annual or Team).
DVA-C03 questions
- Should I take DVA-C02 or wait for DVA-C03?
- If you can be ready and book before November 30, 2026, DVA-C02 is still open. Otherwise prepare for DVA-C03, in use from December 1.
- Does DVA-C03 cost more?
- AWS's page lists $150 with no change announced.
- Is my DVA-C02 certification still valid after the change?
- Yes. AWS lists the certification as valid for 3 years, and none of its pages on the update shortens that.
- Do I need to know a programming language?
- Yes. The exam guide expects proficiency in at least one high-level language.
Next step
Send your language, AWS experience and target date, and we will match a route to DVA-C03.
Ask for help choosing AWS Developer Associate training
Sources
- AWS: Certified Developer Associate (fee, format, languages, experience, validity), checked November 5, 2026
- AWS: exam guide list (DVA-C02 last day, DVA-C03 registration), checked November 5, 2026
- AWS: DVA-C03 exam guide (target candidate, scoring, out-of-scope tasks, domains), checked November 5, 2026
- AWS: comparison of DVA-C02 and DVA-C03, checked November 5, 2026
- Microsoft Skills Hub: AZ-204 retired July 31, 2026, replaced by AI-200, checked November 5, 2026
- AWS: recertification, checked November 5, 2026
- AWS: certification FAQs (retakes), checked November 5, 2026
- AWS: classroom training catalog, checked November 5, 2026
- AWS Skill Builder: DVA-C03 exam prep, checked November 5, 2026
- AWS Skill Builder: subscriptions, checked November 5, 2026
- Tutorials Dojo: Developer Associate practice exams, checked November 5, 2026
- New Horizons: Developing on AWS, checked November 5, 2026
- Global Knowledge: Developing on AWS, checked November 5, 2026
- Learning Tree: Developing on AWS, checked November 5, 2026
Prices are published list prices we recorded on the dates shown, not quotes. How we research.