Training Verdict

AWS Certified Security – Specialty: the experience behind SCS-C03 and what preparing costs

SCS-C03 is the current Security Specialty exam; it costs $300 in the US, checked November 2026, for 65 questions in 170 minutes. A first attempt costs $300 with AWS's free prep plan, $317.99 with a $17.99 practice-exam set, and $2,325 to $3,085 with a three-day Security Engineering on AWS class. With the recommended experience, we estimate 8 to 10 weeks of part-time study.

Key facts

  • The Security Specialty exam costs $300 in the US and has 65 questions in 170 minutes. (AWS, checked November 5, 2026)
  • SCS-C03 replaced SCS-C02 on December 2, 2025; SCS-C02 was in use until December 1, 2025. (AWS SCS-C02 and SCS-C03 comparison, checked November 5, 2026)
  • The minimum passing score is 750 out of 1,000; 50 questions are scored and 15 are unscored. (AWS SCS-C03 exam guide, checked November 5, 2026)
  • The Simplified Chinese, Spanish (Latin America) and Portuguese (Brazil) versions retire after December 31, 2026. (AWS, checked November 5, 2026)

What AWS means by a security specialist

AWS says the certification "validates your expertise in creating and implementing security solutions in the AWS Cloud." The exam guide adds data classification, encryption in transit and at rest, and trade-offs between cost, security and deployment complexity. Its target candidate has the equivalent of 3 to 5 years securing cloud solutions; the certification page describes candidates with five years of IT security work and two or more years securing AWS workloads. Out of scope: designing cryptographic algorithms, packet-level traffic analysis, architecting whole deployments, end-user computing and training ML models.

A good fit if

  • You own IAM, logging, detection or key management for AWS accounts in your organization
  • You have several years in security and at least two securing AWS, which is what AWS recommends
  • You run incident response or audits on AWS and want a credential that tests those tasks directly
  • You protect generative AI workloads on AWS, which SCS-C03 added to infrastructure security

Think twice if

  • You are new to security: the exam assumes years of practice, and a vendor-neutral credential comes first
  • You want a credential for security management and governance across vendors rather than AWS hands-on work
  • You have not built in AWS yet: start with an associate exam

Consider instead: AWS Solutions Architect Associate to build AWS depth first; AWS Solutions Architect Professional for design across accounts; CISSP for vendor-neutral security leadership; Security+ as a first security credential.

Who can book, and how SCS-C03 is built

Eligibility: AWS says you are not required to earn any specific certification first. Recommended experience: five years of IT security designing and implementing security solutions, and two or more years of hands-on work securing AWS workloads. Format: 65 questions in 170 minutes, at a Pearson VUE center or online. The guide lists ordering and matching questions alongside multiple choice and multiple response; ordering and matching earn credit only when fully correct. 50 questions are scored and 15 are unscored. The scaled score runs from 100 to 1,000, 750 passes, and only the overall score counts.

Version: SCS-C03 has been the exam since December 2, 2025. It split detection and incident response into separate domains, renamed the governance domain, and added generative AI guardrails, OCSF data from third-party sources, inter-node encryption, sensitive-data masking and multi-Region key management. As of November 5, 2026, AWS's exam guide list shows no replacement announced for SCS-C03; the November changes are to Solutions Architect Professional (SAP-C03 from November 17) and Developer Associate (DVA-C02 ends November 30).

SCS-C03 domains and AWS's weights, checked November 5, 2026.
SCS-C03 domainWeight
Identity and access management20%
Infrastructure security18%
Data protection18%
Detection16%
Incident response14%
Security foundations and governance14%

Preparing for the security specialty

Security Specialty preparation prices

Published SCS-C03 preparation prices plus the exam fee, US, checked November 5, 2026.
RouteProvider and coursePublished priceExam feeFirst attempt
Free official prepAWS Skill Builder, Exam Prep Plan for SCS-C03, 21 hours 45 minutes, free with an account; the official pretest and practice exam are marked Subscription. Checked November 5, 2026.$0+ $300 exam$300
Practice examsTutorials Dojo, SCS-C03 practice exams, 140 questions, one year of access, list price (on sale for $13.49 when checked). Checked November 5, 2026.$17.99+ $300 exam$317.99
Live class, 3 daysNew Horizons, Security Engineering on AWS, virtual instructor-led; exam voucher offered as a $300 add-on. Checked November 5, 2026.$2,025+ $300 exam$2,325
Live class, 3 daysGlobal Knowledge, Security Engineering on AWS, GK3338, virtual; voucher not stated. Checked November 5, 2026.$2,095+ $300 exam$2,395
Live class, 3 daysLearning Tree, Security Engineering on AWS, course 1233, live instructor-led, official AWS curriculum; voucher not stated. Checked November 5, 2026.$2,785+ $300 exam$3,085

Costs people miss: a retake costs another $300 after a 14-day wait. Skill Builder items marked Subscription need a paid plan. Security services you switch on in a sandbox bill like any other usage, so turn them off when you finish practicing.

Comparing Security Engineering on AWS classes

Keeping Security Specialty active

The certification is valid for 3 years. Renew by passing the latest version of the exam, with the 50% discount voucher in your AWS Certification Account, or by AWS's Skill Builder maintenance route, which adds 1 year and needs an active Skill Builder subscription and a certification within 90 days of expiry.

For security teams on AWS

The exam maps closely to a cloud security team's daily work, so a shared sandbox organization and the free plan cover most of it. Fund the class for people moving into AWS security from on-premises roles, and keep the 750 pass mark in mind when setting dates.

SCS-C03 questions

Is SCS-C02 still available?
No. SCS-C02 was in use until December 1, 2025; SCS-C03 is the exam now.
What score passes?
750 on a scale of 100 to 1,000.
Do I need another AWS certification first?
No. AWS does not require one, though it recommends two or more years securing AWS workloads.
How much does it cost?
$300 in the US as of November 2026; each retake costs the same.

Next step

Send your security background and AWS experience, and we will suggest an SCS-C03 plan and whether a class adds anything.

Ask for help choosing AWS Security Specialty training

Sources

Prices are published list prices we recorded on the dates shown, not quotes. How we research.