AWS Certified Solutions Architect – Professional: experience, the SAP-C03 change and training cost
SAP-C03 costs $300 in the US, checked November 2026, for 75 questions in 180 minutes. A first attempt costs $300 with AWS's free prep, $314.99 with a practice-exam set, and $2,325 to $3,085 with a three-day class. For someone already designing at Associate level, we estimate 8 to 12 weeks of part-time study.
Key facts
- The Solutions Architect Professional exam costs $300 in the US and runs 180 minutes for 75 questions. (AWS, checked November 5, 2026)
- SAP-C02 is in use until November 16, 2026; SAP-C03 is in use from November 17, 2026. (AWS SAP-C03 comparison, checked November 5, 2026)
- SAP-C03 scores 65 of its questions, carries 10 unscored ones, and needs 720 out of 1,000 to pass. (AWS SAP-C03 exam guide, checked November 5, 2026)
- AWS recommends 2 or more years of experience using AWS services to design and implement cloud solutions; it lists no formal prerequisite. (AWS, checked November 5, 2026)
The architect this exam assumes
AWS says SAP-C03 validates "advanced technical skills and experience designing optimized AWS solutions that are based on the AWS Well-Architected Framework." The guide pictures someone who gives design guidance across several applications and projects in a complex organization, including serverless and AI-integrated designs spread over many accounts. Operating system depth, model training, security forensics and application coding are out of scope.
A good fit if
- You have designed AWS workloads for two years or more and make architecture calls that span teams or accounts
- You hold Solutions Architect Associate and want the next level, which also renews the Associate
- You work with AWS Organizations, hybrid networking, migrations and disaster recovery and want a credential that tests them together
- You now design applications that call Amazon Bedrock or other AI services, which SAP-C03 adds
Think twice if
- You have under two years of hands-on AWS design work: the scenarios assume it
- You write application code more than you design systems; the guide puts coding out of scope
- Your organization designs mainly on Azure, where the matching exam is Microsoft's architect exam
Consider instead: AWS Solutions Architect Associate as the step before; AWS Developer Associate for code-focused roles; AZ-305 for Azure architects.
Requirements and the SAP-C03 exam
Eligibility: AWS lists no prerequisite, so you can book without the Associate. Recommended experience: 2 or more years using AWS services to design and implement cloud solutions. Training providers set their own course prerequisites; New Horizons, for example, asks for any one of: the Associate; core-service experience plus its Architecting on AWS course; or a year operating AWS workloads.
Version: the last day for SAP-C02 is November 16, 2026, and SAP-C03 starts on November 17. With AWS's 14-day wait between attempts, a failed SAP-C02 attempt now means retaking on SAP-C03. Format: 75 multiple-choice and multiple-response questions in 180 minutes, 65 of them scored; 720 out of 1,000 passes on the overall score. Languages: English, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese (Brazil), Simplified Chinese and Spanish (Latin America).
| SAP-C03 domain | Weight |
|---|---|
| Cloud-native architecture design and implementation | 25% |
| Security, compliance and governance | 25% |
| Operational excellence and automation | 20% |
| Cost-optimized design | 15% |
| Resilience, migration and business continuity | 15% |
AWS's comparison lists what moved. New material covers generative AI integrations and agent designs on Amazon Bedrock, retrieval-augmented generation, lakehouse and analytics pipelines, IPv6 migration and post-quantum key management in AWS KMS. AWS IoT services, Amazon WorkSpaces and AppStream 2.0, and media services leave the in-scope list. Study material built for SAP-C02 misses the additions.
How to prepare for SAP-C03
- AWS Skill Builder, free. The new SAP-C03 Exam Prep Plan runs 16 hours and includes the Official Practice Question Set; the 43-hour AWS Solutions Architect Advanced Learning Plan includes labs, which may need the $29 monthly subscription; AWS's page does not say. AWS's short exam prep link still opens the retiring SAP-C02 plan, so pick the SAP-C03 one.
- Multi-account practice. Set up AWS Organizations, cross-account roles and a Transit Gateway in a sandbox. The exam is long scenario reading, and that comes faster when you have built the pieces.
- Independent practice exams. Tutorials Dojo sells 300 questions in 75-question sets at $14.99 list. Its page announces SAP-C03 but describes SAP-C02 content, so ask about updates before you buy.
- Advanced Architecting on AWS. AWS's official three-day advanced course, run by AWS and its training partners and available with AWS Jam. AWS lists no Professional-level exam prep classroom course. Suited to architects who learn well from scenario discussion, or whose employer funds training.
SA Professional preparation prices
| Route | Provider and course | Published price | Exam fee | First attempt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free official prep | AWS Skill Builder, Exam Prep Plan for SAP-C03, 16 hours, free with an account, plus a 43-hour advanced Solutions Architect learning plan that includes labs; lab items may need the $29 subscription, and AWS's page does not say. Checked November 5, 2026. | $0 | + $300 exam | $300 |
| Practice exams | Tutorials Dojo, 300 practice questions in 75-question sets, one year of access, list price (on sale for $11.24 when checked); the product text describes SAP-C02. Checked November 5, 2026. | $14.99 | + $300 exam | $314.99 |
| Live class, 3 days | New Horizons, Advanced Architecting on AWS, virtual live; exam voucher offered as a $300 add-on. Checked November 5, 2026. | $2,025 | + $300 exam | $2,325 |
| Live class, 3 days | Global Knowledge, Advanced Architecting on AWS, virtual; voucher not stated. Checked November 5, 2026. | $2,095 | + $300 exam | $2,395 |
| Live class, 3 days | Learning Tree, Advanced Architecting on AWS, instructor-led, with after-course coaching listed; voucher not stated. Checked November 5, 2026. | $2,785 | + $300 exam | $3,085 |
Costs people miss: each retake is another $300, with a 14-day wait. Skill Builder items marked Subscription need the $29 monthly plan. Multi-account practice leaves billable resources running if you forget them, so tear them down after each session.
Questions for an Advanced Architecting provider
- Is the class updated for SAP-C03? No listing in the table names SAP-C03. Ask whether the course covers Bedrock integration and the other additions.
- Is the $300 voucher included? New Horizons sells it as a $300 add-on; Global Knowledge and Learning Tree do not state one.
- What follows the class? Learning Tree lists after-course instructor coaching. Ask the others what support or lab time continues after day three.
- Will the date run? Global Knowledge marks some dates guaranteed to run; ask about the date you want.
Keeping SA Professional current
The certification is valid for 3 years. Renew by passing the latest version of the exam, with the 50% discount voucher from your AWS Certification Account, or through AWS's maintenance route on Skill Builder, which adds 1 year and needs a paid subscription. Passing the Professional exam also renews Solutions Architect Associate.
For architecture teams
A team lead can cover most of the content with the free plan and a shared sandbox organization, then fund the three-day class only for people who want instructor-led scenario work. The Professional exam fee is double the Associate's, so time attempts for when people are ready.
SAP-C03 questions
- Can I still take SAP-C02?
- Only through November 16, 2026. From November 17 the exam is SAP-C03.
- Do I need the Associate first?
- AWS does not require it; it recommends 2 or more years of design experience on AWS.
- How much does it cost?
- $300 in the US as of November 2026, and a retake costs the same.
- What score passes?
- 720 on a scale of 100 to 1,000.
Next step
Send your AWS design experience and exam date, and we will suggest a SAP-C03 plan and any class worth funding.
Ask for help choosing AWS Solutions Architect Professional training
Sources
- AWS: Certified Solutions Architect Professional (fee, format, languages, experience, validity), checked November 5, 2026
- AWS: exam guide list (SAP-C02 last day, SAP-C03 registration), checked November 5, 2026
- AWS: SAP-C03 exam guide (target candidate, scoring, out-of-scope tasks, domains), checked November 5, 2026
- AWS: comparison of SAP-C02 and SAP-C03, checked November 5, 2026
- AWS: recertification, checked November 5, 2026
- AWS: certification FAQs (retakes), checked November 5, 2026
- AWS: classroom training catalog, checked November 5, 2026
- AWS Skill Builder: SAP-C03 exam prep, checked November 5, 2026
- AWS Skill Builder: subscriptions, checked November 5, 2026
- Tutorials Dojo: Solutions Architect Professional practice exams, checked November 5, 2026
- New Horizons: Advanced Architecting on AWS, checked November 5, 2026
- Global Knowledge: Advanced Architecting on AWS, checked November 5, 2026
- Learning Tree: Advanced Architecting on AWS, checked November 5, 2026
Prices are published list prices we recorded on the dates shown, not quotes. How we research.