AWS Cloud Practitioner Essentials: the free course or the one-day class
AWS Cloud Practitioner Essentials is AWS's own introductory course for the $100 AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner exam (CLF-C02). AWS offers it as a self-paced digital course on Skill Builder that needs only a free account (AWS marks just its official pretest and practice exam as subscription items), and as a one-day instructor-led class run by AWS and its Training Partners. In November 2026 that class plus the exam cost $795 to $995 at the 3 US providers we confirmed. For most people paying themselves, the free version is enough; the class suits teams who want everyone through the basics on one day.
Three US providers selling the one-day class
| Provider and listing | Format | Published price | Exam voucher | With the exam |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| New Horizons, AWS Cloud Practitioner Essentials (360918E)Checked November 5, 2026. Listed sessions marked guaranteed to run. Its outline shows 10 modules, the structure before the 2025 refresh; ask which version it teaches. | 1 day, virtual live | $695 | Add-on, $100 | $795 |
| Sunset Learning Institute, AWS Cloud Practitioner Essentials (AWS-CLD-ESS)Checked November 5, 2026. Says all its courses are guaranteed to run. Published price, dates on request (none listed when checked); the page does not state AWS partner status or official curriculum. | 1 day, virtual, or at its Denver or Reston sites with a remote instructor | $695 | Not stated; + $100 CLF-C02 exam | $795 |
| Learning Tree, AWS Cloud Practitioner Essentials (course 1223)Checked November 5, 2026. Listed sessions marked guaranteed to run. Commercial price; states official AWS training curriculum. | 1 day, in person or live online | $895 | Not stated; + $100 CLF-C02 exam | $995 |
Only Learning Tree states it teaches the official AWS curriculum; New Horizons and Sunset Learning use AWS's course title without saying so. AWS also runs public sessions itself, which we did not price, and NetCom Learning lists the course without a US price we could read today. Sunset Learning publishes a price but no dates, so treat its row as a price to confirm when you ask for a date.
What changed in 2025
AWS refreshed Cloud Practitioner Essentials in June 2025 into 13 modules, from an introduction to the cloud through to well-architected solutions, written for newcomers, business professionals, students and non-technical staff. Hands-on work is through console demonstrations rather than graded labs. AWS lists the classroom version as one day at the fundamental level. New Horizons' outline still shows the older 10-module structure, so ask it which version it teaches.
When the class is worth it
AWS's classroom course follows the same syllabus as the free digital one, so the question is mostly format; confirm the provider teaches the 2025 version. The class gives a fixed day, an instructor to answer questions and a group moving together, which suits sales, finance or project teams who need shared vocabulary. In our view, someone studying alone gains little from paying $695 for a class on top of the exam. If you already work with AWS, skip this course and go to the Solutions Architect Associate; AWS does not require Cloud Practitioner first.
Questions
- Is AWS Cloud Practitioner Essentials free?
- The self-paced digital course on AWS Skill Builder needs only a free account; AWS lists its official practice exam and pretest as subscription items. The one-day instructor-led class is sold by AWS Training Partners: $695 to $895 at the US providers we checked in November 2026.
- How long is AWS Cloud Practitioner Essentials?
- One day as a class. AWS lists the digital course at 12 hours 45 minutes, taken at your own pace.
- Does the class include the exam?
- New Horizons sells the voucher as a $100 add-on. Sunset Learning and Learning Tree do not mention a voucher, so ask; otherwise buy it from AWS for $100.
Exam format, renewal and who it suits: AWS Cloud Practitioner certification guide.
Next step
Planning this for a team? Tell us how many people and when, and we will reply with the format and providers that fit.
Ask about a class for your team
Sources
- AWS: classroom training catalog (level and duration), checked November 5, 2026
- AWS Training and Certification blog: new AWS Cloud Practitioner Essentials (June 24, 2025), checked November 5, 2026
- AWS: Cloud Practitioner learning resources (digital course length), checked November 5, 2026
- AWS Skill Builder: Cloud Practitioner (CLF-C02) exam prep, which items are subscription-only, checked November 5, 2026
- New Horizons: AWS Cloud Practitioner Essentials, checked November 5, 2026
- Sunset Learning Institute: AWS Cloud Practitioner Essentials, checked November 5, 2026
- Learning Tree: AWS Cloud Practitioner Essentials (course 1223), checked November 5, 2026
Prices are published list prices we recorded on the dates shown, not quotes. How we research.