Google Cloud Professional Cloud Architect: who it suits, the case-study exam and its cost
Google's Professional Cloud Architect exam costs $200 plus tax in the US (November 2026) for 50 to 60 questions in 2 hours, and the shorter renewal exam costs $100. A first attempt costs $200 with free material, $259 with a month of Coursera Plus, and $2,900 to $2,985 with a three-day Architecting with Google Compute Engine class. With a year of Google Cloud design work, plan on 8 to 12 weeks (our estimate).
Key facts
- The Professional Cloud Architect exam costs $200 plus tax where applicable, runs 2 hours and has 50 to 60 multiple-choice and multiple-select questions. (Google Cloud, checked November 5, 2026)
- Each exam includes 2 case studies, and case-study questions make up 20 to 30% of the exam. (Google Cloud, checked November 5, 2026)
- There are no prerequisites; Google recommends 3 or more years of industry experience, including 1 or more years designing and managing solutions on Google Cloud. (Google Cloud, checked November 5, 2026)
- The certification is valid for 2 years; the renewal exam costs $100, runs 1 hour with 25 questions, and opens 60 days before expiry. (Google Cloud renewal FAQ, checked November 5, 2026)
The architect Google is testing for
Google describes a Professional Cloud Architect as someone able to "design, develop, and manage robust, secure, scalable" solutions on Google Cloud that drive business objectives, across enterprise cloud strategy, solution design, migration, deployment and optimization. Google calls familiarity with its Well-Architected Framework a key requirement. The case studies make the exam less about recalling services and more about choosing them for a business with stated requirements.
A good fit if
- You design or review Google Cloud solutions and have done so for a year or more
- You translate business requirements into designs and can defend the trade-offs
- You work on migrations, hybrid or multicloud setups that land on Google Cloud
- You want a professional-level Google credential after Associate Cloud Engineer
Think twice if
- You have not yet deployed and run workloads on Google Cloud: the associate exam fits better
- Your organization designs mainly on AWS, where the matching exam is Solutions Architect
- You need a credential that lasts longer than 2 years without retesting
Consider instead: Google Associate Cloud Engineer as the hands-on step before; AWS Solutions Architect Associate or Professional if you design on AWS; AZ-305 for Azure.
Requirements, case studies and the exam sections
Eligibility: none; Google lists no prerequisite. Recommended experience: 3 or more years of industry experience, including 1 or more years designing and managing solutions on Google Cloud. Format: 50 to 60 multiple-choice and multiple-select questions in 2 hours, in English or Japanese, online-proctored or at a test center. Case studies: each exam uses 2 of the 4 published case studies (Altostrat Media, Cymbal Retail, EHR Healthcare and KnightMotives Automotive), shown on a split screen; several describe businesses using Google's generative AI services. Google does not publish a passing score on the certification page.
| Exam section | Weight |
|---|---|
| Designing and planning the solution architecture | ~25% |
| Managing and provisioning the infrastructure | ~17.5% |
| Designing for security and compliance | ~17.5% |
| Analyzing and optimizing technical and business processes | ~15% |
| Managing implementation | ~12.5% |
| Ensuring solution and operations excellence | ~12.5% |
Google can update exam content at any time under its exam terms. The current case-study files are labeled v6.1; read the versions linked from the exam guide, not older copies.
Ways to prepare for the architect exam
- Google's exam guide, case studies and sample questions. Free from the certification page. Read each case study until you can sketch a design for it from memory.
- Google's Professional Cloud Architect learning path on Google Skills. Google's official preparation: 24 activities of on-demand courses, labs and skill badges. Its price is not shown without signing in.
- Coursera's Cloud Architect Professional Certificate. A 7-course Google Cloud series ending in a PCA study-guide course; Coursera says the exam fee is not included. Suits people who want a set order and deadlines; at $59 a month, each extra month you need adds $59.
- Architecting with Google Compute Engine. A three-day instructor-led Google course on infrastructure, networking and Compute Engine. New Horizons says it helps lay the foundation for the architect exam. Suits people weaker on infrastructure than on design.
Professional Cloud Architect preparation prices
| Route | Provider and course | Published price | Exam fee | First attempt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Exam with free material | Google Cloud, Professional Cloud Architect exam, prepared with Google’s exam guide, free sample questions, documentation and your own project. Checked November 5, 2026. | $0 | + $200 exam | $200 |
| One month of Coursera | Coursera, Coursera Plus monthly after a 7-day free trial; the Cloud Architect Professional Certificate is a 7-course series that Coursera estimates at 4 weeks at 10 hours a week. Checked November 5, 2026. | $59 | + $200 exam | $259 |
| A year of Coursera | Coursera, Coursera Plus annual at the regular price ($239 on an offer ending November 30, 2026). Checked November 5, 2026. | $399 | + $200 exam | $599 |
| Live class, 3 days | New Horizons, Architecting with Google Compute Engine, virtual instructor-led; no voucher listed. Checked November 5, 2026. | $2,700 | + $200 exam | $2,900 |
| Live class, 3 days | Global Knowledge, Architecting with Google Compute Engine, GO5973, virtual; voucher not stated. Checked November 5, 2026. | $2,700 | + $200 exam | $2,900 |
| Live class, 3 days | Learning Tree, Architecting with Google Compute Engine, course 1471, official Google content with after-course coaching listed; voucher not stated. Checked November 5, 2026. | $2,785 | + $200 exam | $2,985 |
Costs people miss: tax on the exam fee where it applies, and the full fee again for each retake. Google allows 4 attempts in 2 years, with waits of 14 days, then 60 days, then 365 days after successive fails. Practice projects bill for resources you leave running.
Picking a Google Cloud architecture class
- Does the class teach to this exam? Architecting with Google Compute Engine is an infrastructure course. Ask whether the class works through the four case studies or only the Compute Engine material.
- Is a voucher in the price? None of the three class listings states one, so add $200 plus tax.
- What continues after the class? Learning Tree lists after-course instructor coaching; ask the others what lab access remains.
- Will your date run? Learning Tree lists December 9 to 11 as a virtual date; ask whether it is confirmed.
Renewing every two years
The certification is valid for 2 years. From 60 days before expiry to 30 days after, you can renew with either the standard exam or the renewal exam: 1 hour, 25 questions, $100, built around 1 generative AI case study. After that window, only the standard exam recertifies you. Google's renewal FAQ says a failed renewal attempt can be retaken after 14 days, then 60 days, and you can switch to the standard exam for any attempt.
For architecture teams on Google Cloud
Because the credential lapses after 2 years, budget for the $100 renewal per architect and book it early in the 60-day window. Google partners can request renewal vouchers through Google's Partner Recertification program, so check whether your employer qualifies.
Cloud Architect questions
- How much is the Professional Cloud Architect exam?
- $200 plus tax where applicable, as of November 2026. The renewal exam is $100.
- Do I need Associate Cloud Engineer first?
- No. Google lists no prerequisites for the architect exam.
- Which case studies can appear?
- Altostrat Media, Cymbal Retail, EHR Healthcare and KnightMotives Automotive; each exam uses 2.
- How long does it last?
- 2 years, renewable from 60 days before expiry.
Next step
Send your Google Cloud design experience and target date, and we will suggest a preparation plan and whether a class is worth funding.
Ask for help choosing Google Professional Cloud Architect training
Sources
- Google Cloud: Professional Cloud Architect (fee, format, case studies, languages, prerequisites, experience, validity, renewal exam), checked November 5, 2026
- Google Cloud: Professional Cloud Architect exam guide (sections and weights, case study list), checked November 5, 2026
- Google Cloud: Professional Cloud Architect renewal exam overview and FAQs, checked November 5, 2026
- Google Cloud: certification exam policies and terms (retakes, validity, renewal window, content updates), checked November 5, 2026
- Google Skills: Professional Cloud Architect learning path, checked November 5, 2026
- Coursera: Preparing for Google Cloud Certification: Cloud Architect Professional Certificate, checked November 5, 2026
- Coursera: Coursera Plus pricing, checked November 5, 2026
- New Horizons: Architecting with Google Compute Engine, checked November 5, 2026
- Global Knowledge: Architecting with Google Compute Engine (GO5973), checked November 5, 2026
- Learning Tree: Architecting with Google Compute Engine (course 1471), checked November 5, 2026
Prices are published list prices we recorded on the dates shown, not quotes. How we research.